Concealed Weapons Permits

The Chouteau County Sheriff's Office issues Concealed Weapons Permits in accordance with Montana State Law.

 

A fee of $50.00 must be included with the application, which is good for four (4) years. Checks will be made out to the Sheriff of Chouteau County. You will need to make an appointment to be fingerprinted so that a background investigation may be conducted and there will be a $5.00 fee charged for this.

If you have any questions concerning the processing of your application, please contact this office at 622-5451 during business hours of 8:00am and 4:00pm, Monday through Friday.

Click here for Concealed Weapons Permit Application   and    Applicant Rights Form

--- Note on renewals ---

Application for renewal must be made within ninety (90) days prior to the expiration of the permit.

 

The following is an outline of the application process for obtaining a concealed weapons permit through the Chouteau County Sheriff's Office:

According to Section 45-8-321 Montana Code Annotated, we need the following information and copy of the completion of the firearms safety course to continue the processing.

(1) An applicant for a permit under this section must, as a condition to issuance of the permit, be required by the Sheriff to demonstrate familiarity with a firearm by:

          (a) Completion of a hunter education or safety course approved or conducted by the Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks or a similar agency of another state.

          (b) Completion of a firearms safety or training course approved or conducted  by the Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks or a similar agency of another state, a national firearms association, a law enforcement agency, an institution of higher education or an organization that used instructors certified by a national firearms association.

          (c) Completion of law enforcement firearms safety training course offered to or required of public or private law enforcement personnel and conducted or approved by law enforcement agency.

          (d) Possession of license from another state to carry a firearm, concealed or otherwise, that is granted by that state upon completion of a course described in subsection (3a) through (3c): or

 

(2) A photocopy of a certificate of completion of a course described in section (3), an affidavit from the entity or instructor that conducted the course attesting to completion of the course, or copy of any other document that attest to completion of the course and can be verified through contact with the entity or instructor that conducted the course creates a presumption that the applicant has completed a course described in subsection (3).

(3) If the Sheriff and applicant agree, the requirement in subsection (3) of demonstrating familiarity with a firearm may be satisfied by the applicant's passing, to the satisfaction of the Sheriff or of any person or entity to which the Sheriff delegates authority to give the test, a physical test in which the applicant demonstrates the applicant's familiarity with a firearm.
 

COPYRIGHT©  2012 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED CHOUTEAU COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE